| |


Mastery & Semicha ProgramTutoringUlpanEn Españolв РоссииShavei Israel
TAKE A VIDEO TOUR GO TO OUR BLOG REGISTER NOW NEWSLETTER SIGNUP
TO RECEIVE OUR NEWSLETTER, ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS HERE

Tisha B'Av at WebYeshiva

Kinot and special shiurim dedicated in memory of Rabbi Jay Miller, z"l by his talmidim throughout the years, and in memory of Nachman ben Gedalya HaCohen (Mr. Norman) Ruback, by his family.

tisha bav

On Tisha B'Av 5769 - Thursday July 30th, 2009 - Rabbi Chaim Brovender, Rosh Yeshiva of WebYeshiva, and Rabbi Yitzchak Blau gave three live, fully-interactive, online sessions of Kinot and special Tisha B'Av shiurim in memory of former WebYeshiva faculty member and beloved teacher, Rabbi Jay Miller, and in memory of Mr. Norman Ruback.

Archives of the recorded shiurim are available to download.  In order to listen to the archived shiurim, you must first download the appropriate Webex player (note that this is different from the Webex player used to listen to regular WebYeshiva archives).  Please choose the appropriate link below.  Once the file has downloaded, you must open the icon on your desktop and run the setup.

For Mac Intel:
https://uk-eval.webex.com/client/T27L/mac/intel/webexnbrplayer_intel.dmg

 

Once you have downloaded the player, you  can download the recording by clicking on the links below

9:15 AM Israel time
7:15 AM London time
4:15 PM Melbourne time

Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Brovender
Rabbi Brovender explained the themes of the various Kinot, with a close examination of the text and ideas. What was the historical background of the Kinot? Who are the authors of the Kinot? What themes in the Kinot resonate in modern times?

For archives of the Kinot click here

12:00 PM Israel time
10:00 AM London time
7:00 PM Melbourne time

Aggadot HaChurban with Rabbi Blau

Rabbi Blau took a deeper look at the Aggadot HaChurban (stories dealing with the destruction of the Temple) including Bar Kamza, R. Zecharya and the Biryonim.

For archives of the shiur click here

10:30 AM New York time
7:30 AM LA time
5:30 PM Israel time
3:30 PM London time

Second Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Brovender
Rabbi Brovender explained the themes of the various Kinot, with a close examination of the text and ideas. What was the historical background of the Kinot? Who are the authors of the Kinot? What themes in the Kinot resonate in modern times?

For archives of the Kinot click here

 

 

"Rabbi Jay Miller was a brilliant, demanding, and inquisitive man... He winked at the false pieties... and modeled a love of Torah she'b'al peh that remains decades later."

David Henkin

"His absolute dedication to learning and emes was amazing. Ask him a question and you have started a quest, an extended search, one that would end with an avalanche of sources and insights."

Yaakov Tannenbaum

"Those who knew and loved Rabbi Miller, also were aware that he was an acquired taste much like a single malt Scotch: smoky, complex and meant to savor, but impossible to dismiss."

Rabbi Avi Weinstein

"I find that almost every day I utilize the analytical skills and the ethical values which I learned together with Rabbi Miller."

Jay Hait

 

     
contact us 24/6 TECH SUPPORT: U.S. 1-646-977-7978 · Israel (0)3-900-3015 · office@webyeshiva.org