• December 5, 2022
  • 10 5783, Kislev
  • פרשת וארא

Tisha B’Av 5773

Tisha B’Av 5773

For questions about how to log in please email support@webyeshiva.org or call (0)3-900-3015 (Israel) or (646) 977-7978 (United States). Tuesday, July 16 First Session Shacharit (Morning Prayer Services) at Beit Knesset Shir Hadash 8:15 AM Israel time Rechov Cheil Nashim 4, Katamon, Jerusalem. Click here for a map. This will not be broadcasted. ~~~ Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Chaim Brovender 9:15-11:15 AM Israel time 7:15-9:15 AM London time 4:15-6:15 PM Melbourne time 2:15-4:15 AM US Eastern time 11:15 PM-1:15 AM (Monday, July 15) US Pacific time Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times. This class will be broadcasted live online from Beit Knesset Shir Hadash, Rechov Cheil Nashim 4, Katamon, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue. Click here for a map. Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller 11:15-1:15 PM Israel time 9:15-11:15 AM London time 6:15-8:15 PM Melbourne time 4:15-6:15 AM US Easter time 1:15-3:15 AM US Pacific time Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages. This class will be broadcasted live online from Beit Knesset Shir Hadash, Rechov Cheil Nashim 4, Katamon, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue. Click here for a map. ~~~ Chatzot in Jerusalem is at approximately 12:45 PM Mincha (Afternoon Prayers) 1:20 PM Israel time at Beit Knesset Shir Hadash This will not be broadcasted. ~~~ Second Session Please note that there will be no live, in-person audience for the second session. This class will be broadcasted live online only at WebYeshiva.org. Rabati VaGoyim: She, so great among the nations with Rabbi Avi Weinstein 5:15 PM Israel time 3:15 PM London time 12:15 AM (Wednesday, July 17) Melbourne time 10:15 AM US Eastern time 7:15 AM US Pacific time From Jeremiah through to the present day, the blessing and curse of Jewish exceptionalism reverberates throughout the ages. From the magnificence of Jerusalem to the wisdom of her population, the question remains, “How does she dwell so bereft and alone?” This class will investigate the Jewish self perception that magnifies the loss of the city and the humiliation of exile.” � The Book of Eicha with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller 6:30 PM Israel time 3:30 PM London time 1:30 AM (Wednesday, July 17) Melbourne time 11:30 AM US Eastern time 8:30 AM US Pacific time Rabbi Geller will discuss the book of Eicha (Lamentations), customarily read on the ninth of Av. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God.

July 16, 2013 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av 5773: Lesson 1
Class description

EXPLANATORY KINOT SERVICE WITH RABBI CHAIM BROVENDER AND GROWTH FROM THE ASHES WITH RABBI YEHOSHUA GELLER: Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times. Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages.

July 16, 2013 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av 5773: Lesson 2
Class description

RABATI VAGOYIM: SHE, SO GREAT AMONG THE NATIONS WITH RABBI AVI WEINSTEIN: From Jeremiah through to the present day, the blessing and curse of Jewish exceptionalism reverberates throughout the ages. From the magnificence of Jerusalem to the wisdom of her population, the question remains, “How does she dwell so bereft and alone?” This class will investigate the Jewish self perception that magnifies the loss of the city and the humiliation of exile.”

July 16, 2013 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av 5773: Lesson 3
Class description

THE BOOK OF EICHA WITH RABBI YEHOSHUA GELLER: Rabbi Geller will discuss the book of Eicha (Lamentations), customarily read on the ninth of Av. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God.

Rabbi Chaim Brovender is the Rosh Yeshiva of WebYeshiva and President of ATID - The Academy for Torah Initiatives and Directions in Jewish Education, in Jerusalem. He was the founding Rosh Yeshiva of Yeshivat Hamivtar and Michlelet Bruria (today, Midreshet Lindenbaum) where he pioneered the teaching of Gemara to students for whom the Talmud had been a closed book. For over forty years he has been a leading force in teaching Torah in Israel and enabling his students to "learn how to learn" according to the renowned "Brovender Method."