• August 14, 2022
  • 17 5782, Av
  • פרשת עקב

Tisha B’Av 5776 (2016)

Tisha B’Av 5776 (2016)

Sunday, August 14 Shacharit (Morning Prayer Services) at Beit Knesset Shir Hadash 8:45 AM Israel time Chopin #3, Talbiya, Jerusalem. Click here for a map. This will not be broadcasted. ~~~ First Session 9:30 AM Israel time 7:30 AM London time 4:30 PM Melbourne time 2:30 AM US Eastern time 11:30 PM (Motzei Shabbat, August 13) US Pacific time Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Chaim Brovender Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times. Rabbi Brovender’s lecture is dedicated in memory of Mr. Norman Ruback z”l נחמן בן גדליה הכהן ז”ל. Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages. We will continue with a discussion of the Book of Eicha. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God. These lectures will be broadcasted live online from Beit Knesset Shir Hadash, Chopin #3, Talbiya, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue. Click here for a map. ~~~ Chatzot in Jerusalem is at approximately 12:44 PM Mincha (Afternoon Prayers) 1:20 PM Israel time at Beit Knesset Shir Hadash This will not be broadcasted. ~~~ Second Session Please note that there will be no live, in-person audience for the second session. This class will be broadcasted live online only at WebYeshiva.org. Humility on Tisha B’Av with Rabbi Avi Weinstein 8:00 PM Israel time 6:00 PM London time 3:00 AM (Wednesday, August 6) Melbourne time 12:00 PM US Central time 1:00 PM US Eastern time 10:00 AM US Pacific time Anava, often translated as the desirable quality of humility, seems to have a different meaning in the well known Kamtza/Bar Kamtza story. Exploring the constructive and destructive dimensions of ענוה will enrich our understanding of a story that many know but few understand. ~~~ For questions about how to log in please email support@webyeshiva.org or call 073-796-2230 (Israel) or 646-977-7978 (United States).

August 14, 2016 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av 5776 (2016): Lesson 1
Class description

Humility on Tisha B’Av with Rabbi Avi Weinstein Anava, often translated as the desirable quality of humility, seems to have a different meaning in the well known Kamtza/Bar Kamtza story. Exploring the constructive and destructive dimensions of ענוה will enrich our understanding of a story that many know but few understand.

August 14, 2016 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av 5776 (2016): Lesson 2
Class description

Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Chaim Brovender Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times. Rabbi Brovender’s lecture is dedicated in memory of Mr. Norman Ruback z”l נחמן בן גדליה הכהן ז”ל Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages. We will continue with a discussion of the Book of Eicha. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God. These lectures will be broadcasted live online from Beit Knesset Shir Hadash, Chopin #3, Talbiya, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue. Click here for a map.

Rabbi Chaim Brovender is the Rosh Yeshiva of WebYeshiva and President of ATID - The Academy for Torah Initiatives and Directions in Jewish Education, in Jerusalem. He was the founding Rosh Yeshiva of Yeshivat Hamivtar and Michlelet Bruria (today, Midreshet Lindenbaum) where he pioneered the teaching of Gemara to students for whom the Talmud had been a closed book. For over forty years he has been a leading force in teaching Torah in Israel and enabling his students to "learn how to learn" according to the renowned "Brovender Method."