• December 9, 2022
  • 15 5783, Kislev
  • פרשת וישלח

Tisha B’Av Kinot: 9 Av 5771, August 9

Tisha B’Av Kinot: 9 Av 5771, August 9

All sessions are free. Registration is required.

This shiur is dedicated in memory of Norman and Mary Ruback, Nachman ben Gedalia HaCohen and Miriam bat Avraham, by their family.

9:15 AM Israel time
7:15 AM London time
4:15 PM Melbourne time
2:15 AM US Eastern time
11:15 PM (Monday, August 8) US Pacific time

Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Brovender
Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times.

This class will be broadcast live online from Shir Chadash Synagogue, Rechov Cheil Nashim 4, Katamon, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue following Shacharit (morning prayer services, scheduled for 8:15am Israel time). There is no need to reserve a space in the synagogue.

11:45 AM Israel time
9:45 AM London time
6:45 PM Melbourne time
4:45 AM US Eastern time
1:45 AM US Pacific time

Kinot: Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller
Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages.

Please note there will be a 30 minute break from 12:45 – 1:15 PM Israel time for the completion of Shacharit (morning prayers).

1:15 PM Israel time
11:45 AM London time
8:45 PM Melbourne time
6:45 AM US Eastern time
3:45 AM US Pacific time

The Book of Eicha: Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller
Rabbi Geller will discuss the book of Eicha (Lamentations), customarily read on the ninth of Av. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God.

This class will be broadcast live online from Shir Chadash Synagogue, Rechov Cheil Nashim 4, Katamon, Jerusalem. A live audience is welcome to join in the synagogue.

There will be a break from 1:20 PM Israel time to say Mincha (afternoon prayer services).

5:30 PM Israel time
3:30 PM London time
12:30 AM (Wednesday, August 10) Melbourne time
10:30 AM US Eastern time
7:30 AM US Pacific time

Second Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Brovender
Rabbi Brovender explained the themes of the various Kinot, with a close examination of the text and ideas. What was the historical background of the Kinot? Who are the authors of the Kinot? What themes in the Kinot resonate in modern times?

There will be no live audience for this class, but the class will be broadcast live via videoconference. We welcome you to join us online to listen and participate.

August 9, 2011 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av Kinot: 9 Av 5771, August 9: Lesson 1
Class description

TISHA B’AV KINOT, PART 1: Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Chaim Brovender Join Rabbi Brovender as he explains the underlying themes of various Kinot to make them more meaningful. He will give historical background about the Kinot and their authors along with a deep examination of the text and ideas. Rabbi Brovender will show how the themes of the Kinot can resonate with us in modern times. Kinot: Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller Many of the Kinot said on Tisha B’Av are difficult to relate to without understanding their meaning or background. Rabbi Geller will read through some of the Kinot to give us some context and help us better understand and internalize their messages. The Book of Eicha: Growth from the Ashes with Rabbi Yehoshua Geller Rabbi Geller will discuss the book of Eicha (Lamentations), customarily read on the ninth of Av. Eicha tells the tragic story of the destruction of the First Temple. Eicha is not only a story of pain and suffering, but it also grants us insight into how we can take that pain and sadness and use it to grow and better ourselves and our relationships with God.

August 9, 2011 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tisha B’Av Kinot: 9 Av 5771, August 9: Lesson 2
Class description

TISHA B’AV KINOT, PART 2: Second Explanatory Kinot Service with Rabbi Brovender Rabbi Brovender will continue to explain the themes of the various Kinot, with a close examination of the text and ideas. What was the historical background of the Kinot? Who are the authors of the Kinot? What themes in the Kinot resonate in modern times?

Rabbi Chaim Brovender is the Rosh Yeshiva of WebYeshiva and President of ATID - The Academy for Torah Initiatives and Directions in Jewish Education, in Jerusalem. He was the founding Rosh Yeshiva of Yeshivat Hamivtar and Michlelet Bruria (today, Midreshet Lindenbaum) where he pioneered the teaching of Gemara to students for whom the Talmud had been a closed book. For over forty years he has been a leading force in teaching Torah in Israel and enabling his students to "learn how to learn" according to the renowned "Brovender Method."